Collection of pioneer artifacts relating to the Red River Valley, particularly the Morris area.
About the Collections
The main museum building is the Carleton School built in 1951 and closed in 1968. This building contains an eclectic collection of artifacts from Morris and District: school artifacts, mens room, vintage clothing, farm tools, dairy section etc.The second building is furnished as a pioneer home and includes a kitchen, dining room, parlour, childs bedroom, master bedroom. The Museum has an old Hudson’s Bay Store display case, which was purchased by J. J. Sadler in 1925 to use in his store in Renwar, Manitoba. In 1930 he used it in his store in Kenville, MB.. His son Lyman brought it to Morris in 1960 and it came into the possession of Bill Schellenberg in 1968. Bill donated it to the Museum in 1993. This case holds seasonal displays.
The year 2000 saw the unveiling of the “Morris Museum Millennium Mural”. “Life Along the Red Rever” illustrates the rich history of Manitoba’s Red River Valley. This mural was painted by Stephen Jackson of Roseisle, Manitoba and funding was provided by the Manitoba Heritage Grants Programme, Millennium Bureau of Canada and the Morris & District Centennial Museum.
Agriculture • Ceremonial Objects • Household Objects or Domestic Technology • Local History
Services & Activities
Local students are invited to view the museum during the school year and also during our Annual Christmas Open House in December.
Films and Videos • Guided Tours : English • Parking Facilities : Free • Gift shop • Special Needs Facilities : Parking : Signs : Washrooms : Wheelchair access • Washrooms
Address: 350 Main St. S.
Corner of Hwy #75 & Hwy #23E
Morris, Manitoba R0G 1K0
Morris & District Centennial Museum Inc.
P.O. Box 344, Morris, Manitoba R0G 1K0
Open daily from June 1 to August 31
Open: Daily, 12pm to 5pm
Donations willingly accepted