Aubigny is a small village nestled on the East side of the Red River, along St. Mary’s Road, that has a historical record that goes back over 120 years. Before the name of Aubigny was chosen, it was known as ‘La Grande Point de La Saline’, which translated would mean ‘The Large Point of Salt Marsh’. Aubigny was named in 1903, after the Count An-toine d’Aubigny, a rich Frenchman who became a Trappist Monk, left his money to establish a mission in Manitoba. The first settlers who arrived in 1877 from New Hampshire, U.S.A. were the Chartier and Hebert families. They took possession of River Lots 447 and 441, respectively.
Page: 168 Furrows of the Valley